Crawford County Emergency Management Commission January 7, 2025 Minutes

The Crawford County Emergency Management Commission met on January 7, 2025, in the lower conference room of the Crawford County Courthouse.

Members present were Chairman Ty Rosburg (BOS), Mayors Terry Kolln (Buck Grove), Peggy Staley (Charter Oak), Jerry Mathies (Deloit), Pam Soseman (Denison), Kody Meyer (Dow City), Mike Lickteig (Kiron), Corey Gaskill (Manilla), Brad Riessen (Ricketts), and Sheriff Roger Rasmussen.

Members absent were Mayors Jeff Stephens (Arion), Tom Irlbeck (Aspinwall), Beth Winquist (Schleswig), Monte Crichton (Vail), and Michell Simons (Westside).

Guests present were Coordinator Zach Rasmussen, Assistant Tim Zenk, and John Granzen.

Chairman Rosburg called the meeting to order at 6:34 p.m., with no objections to the agenda as presented.

Motion Kolln/Riessen to appoint Peggy Staley as secretary. All ayes. Motion carried.

Motion Soseman/Meyer to approve the December 3, 2024, meeting minutes. All ayes. Motion carried.

New EMA Coordinator Zach Rasmussen introduced himself to the Commission and gave an extensive report of his recent activities, i.e., meeting mayors & fire chiefs, getting his office set up, attending the Rotary Club meeting, consulting with the District 3 EMA chairman, KDSN interview, preparing the budget, etc.

Tim continues to check the communications towers on Sundays and has been helping Zach get settled into his new role.

There will be a National Weather Service storm-spotting class open to all Crawford County first responders on March 5, 7:00 pm, at the Denison fire station.

Plans for the FY2025-2026 were discussed, including a possible second vehicle for CCEMA, a county-wide drone team, hazardous material response training, and miscellaneous equipment. The Coordinator also went over his preliminary budget line items with the Commission. Mayor Soseman suggested formulating a Capital Improvement Plan to plan for new expenses.

The City of Manilla may have a fully equipped 2020 Chevy Tahoe available for sale, which Zach is interested in purchasing for a daily driver and mobile command. Pricing has yet to be determined. The current EMA truck has an idle shutdown feature that could create a safety hazard at emergency scenes. Sheriff Roger Rasmussen suggested the possibility of trading police contracting with the City of Manilla for the vehicle.

Tim gave a progress report on the communications towers. Racom has the equipment and is actively working on building the racks at the warehouse in Marshalltown. Upon completion, they will deploy to the field and get them set in the tower sheds. He hopes that will be completed by the end of this fiscal year (June 30).

Chairman Rosburg suggested the Commission form an executive committee to consult on unexpected expenses that come up between meetings and to assist with the budget process.

Motion Gaskill/Meyer to appoint Ty Rosburg, Terry Kolln, Pam Soseman and Peggy Staley to the EMA <u>executive committee</u> for the 2025 calendar year. All ayes. Motion carried.

No action was taken to set the date for the budget hearing as it will have to be coordinated with the Conference Board meeting.

John Granzen notified the Commission that Greg Miller has not yet received a formal termination letter from EMA. Chairman Rosburg will see that he gets one.

The new public phone number for Crawford County Emergency Management is 712-571-8241.

Motion Gaskill/R. Rasmussen to adjourn at 8:01 p.m. All ayes. Motion carried.

Submitted by Mayor Peggy Staley
CCEMA Acting Secretary